Skip to main content
English National Ballet Philharmonic is made up of many of the country’s top musicians, and boasts considerable experience in all forms of music-making.

Since Dame Alicia Markova and Anton Dolin founded what is now English National Ballet in 1950, the Company has always been committed to achieving the highest musical as well as dancing standards.

From the very beginning, English National Ballet Philharmonic has played an important part in creating the magic which is a vital part of every live performance.

Notable events have included galas at both the London Coliseum and Royal Opera House, accompanying visiting ballet companies, appearances in concert (including the Bath and City of London Festivals) and, most recently, providing the music for the Royal Academy of Dance’s children’s ballet syllabus grades.

English National Ballet Philharmonic also play a significant part in the Engagement Department’s school visits and workshops, taking a taste of the music of ballet to tomorrow’s audience.

Suspended above and behind the stage and conducted by Gavin Sutherland, English National Ballet Philharmonic plays each of Tchaikovsky’s notes with tenderness and every crescendo with a soul-stirring thrill. I felt as if I had never heard this music before.
Sunday Express on Swan Lake in-the-round

Listen on Spotify

Principal Guest Conductors



Violin 1

Matthew Scrivener


Rachel Allen


Emil Chakalov

Anne Martin

Ruth Knell

Fiona Chesterman

Kirsty MacLeod

Joana Ly

Violin 2

Alain Petitclerc

Section Principal

Susan Croot

Charlotte Howes

Stephen Dinwoodie


Alexandros Koustas

Section Principal

David Danford

Elizabeth Sharpe


Garry Stevens

Section Principal

Martin Thomas

Ann Lines

Double Bass

Jeremy Gordon

Section Principal

Dominic Black

Catherine Ricketts

Flute II/Piccolo

Helen Keen


Gareth Hulse

Section Principal

Jennifer Brittlebank


Derek Hannigan

Section Principal

Paul Allen


John McDougall

Section Principal

Howard Legge

French Horn

Mark Johnson

Section Principal

Alexandra Carr

Richard Dilley

Duncan Fuller


Alex Cromwell

Section Principal


Andrew Connington

Section Principal

Bass Trombone

Leslie Storey

Section Principal


Martin Knowles

Section Principal


Isobel Frayling-Cork

Section Principal


Kate Eyre

Section Principal


Austin Beattie

Section Principal

Kevin Nutty