Image: Erik Woolhouse in Playlist (Track 1, 2) by William Forsythe © Laurent Liotardo.

This year, we’re pleased to be nominated for nine National Dance Awards, including Best Classical Choreography for William Forsythe’s Playlist (Track 1, 2), which premiered as part of Voices of America last spring at Sadler’s Wells.

See the categories we were nominated in below:

Best Female Dancer

Alina Cojocaru – English National Ballet
Jurgita Dronina – English National Ballet
Dana Fouras – Russell Maliphant Company
Rocío Molina – Cía Rocio Molina/Dance Umbrella
Marianela Nuñez – The Royal Ballet

Jurgita Dronina and Isaac Hernandez in La Sylphide © Laurent Liotardo.

Best Classical Choreography

(Sponsored by The Ballet Association)

William Forsythe for Playlist (Track 1,2) – English National Ballet
Cathy Marston for The Suit – Ballet Black
Wayne McGregor for Yugen – The Royal Ballet
Liam Scarlett for Swan Lake – The Royal Ballet
Christopher Wheeldon for Corybantic Games – The Royal Ballet

English National Ballet in Playlist (Track 1, 2) by William Forsythe © Laurent Liotardo.

Emerging Artist Award

(Sponsored by The L&M Trust)

Precious Adams – First Artist, English National Ballet
Maya Jilan Dong – Choreographer & Dancer /Portraits of Otherness, Akram Khan Company
Daniel McCormick – Artist of the Company, English National Ballet
Joseph Sissens – First Artist, The Royal Ballet
Vanessa Vince-Pang – Dancer, Phoenix Dance Theatre

Precious Adams in Elite Syncopations ©ROH, 2017. Photographed by Bill Cooper
Daniel McCormick performing Le Corsaire pas de deux for Emerging Dancer 2018 © Laurent Liotardo.

Outstanding Female Classical Performance

(Sponsored by Lee McLernon)

Precious Adams as Calliope in Elite Syncopations – Kenneth MacMillan: A National Celebration/English National Ballet
Alina Cojocaru as Aurora in The Sleeping Beauty – English National Ballet
Constance Devernay as The Fairy in Le Baiser de la fée – Scottish Ballet
La Chana in Gala Flamenca/La Chana – Flamenco Festival
Marianela Nuñez as Odette/Odile in Swan Lake – The Royal Ballet

Alina Cojocaru as Princess Aurora in English National Ballet's The Sleeping Beauty (c) Laurent Liotardo
Alina Cojocaru as Princess Aurora in The Sleeping Beauty © Laurent Liotardo.

Outstanding Male Classical Performance

(Sponsored by The London Ballet Circle)

José Alves in The Suit – Ballet Black
Sergio Bernal in The Swan in Russian Ballet Icons Gala – Ensemble Productions
Brandon Lawrence as Pan in Arcadia – Birmingham Royal Ballet
Andrew Peasgood as The Young Man in Le Baiser de la fée – Scottish Ballet
Aaron Robison in Playlist (Track 1, 2) – English National Ballet

English National Ballet in Playlist (Track 1, 2) by William Forsythe © Laurent Liotardo.

Outstanding Creative Contribution

Lucy Carter – Lighting Designer
Viviana Durante – Producer, Steps Back in Time
Philip Feeney – Composer/Music Arranger/Pianist
John Macfarlane – Designer
Gavin Sutherland – Conductor/Music Arranger/Musical Director

Gavin Sutherland © Karolina Kuras.
Gavin Sutherland © Karolina Kuras.

Congratulations to all the nominees. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Monday 18 February 2019.

Update – 18 February 2019

Congratulations to Alina Cojocaru for her win in the Outstanding Female Classical Performance category, and Precious Adams, who received the Emerging Artist Award!