Image: Katja Khaniukova and Irek Mukhamedov in Broken Wings © Laurent Liotardo.

We’re delighted to have received 6 nominations – including 2 each for Stina Quagebeur and Katja Khaniukova.

Congratulations to Stina Squagebeur, whose first main stage commission, Nora, sees her nominated in 2 categories, including Best Classical Choreography; to Katja Khaniukova who wowed critics as Frida Kahlo in Annabelle Lopez Ochoa’s Broken Wings; to Jeffrey Cirio for his nomination in the Best Male Dancer category; and to our Music Director Gavin Sutherland, who receives his second nomination in a row in the Outstanding Creative Contribution category.

Here are the categories we’re nominated in.

Best Male Dancer

Alexander Campbell – The Royal Ballet
Jeffrey Cirio – English National Ballet
Israel Galván – Compañia Israel Galván
Vadim Muntagirov – The Royal Ballet
Marcelino Sambé – The Royal Ballet

Best Female Dancer

Sara Baras – Ballet Flamenco Sara Baras/Flamenco Festival
Francesca Hayward – The Royal Ballet
Katja Khaniukova – English National Ballet
Laura Morera – The Royal Ballet
Marianela Nuñez – The Royal Ballet

Jeffrey Cirio in Manon © Laurent Liotardo.

Best Classical Choreography

Patricia Guerrero for Catedral – Flamenco Festival
Cathy Marston for Victoria – Northern Ballet
Helen Pickett for The Crucible – Scottish Ballet
Stina Quagebeur for Nora [part of She Persisted] – English National Ballet
Alexei Ratmansky for Shostakovich Trilogy – San Francisco Ballet

Emerging Artist Award

Jemima Brown – Dancer, Tom Dale Company & James Cousins Company
Salomé Pressac – Dancer, Rambert
Mthuthuzeli November – Choreographer, Ballet Black
Stina Quagebeur – Choreographer, English National Ballet
Joseph Sissens – First Artist, The Royal Ballet

Crystal Costa and Artists of English National Ballet in Nora © Laurent Liotardo.

Outstanding Female Classical Performance

Sara Baras in Sombras – Ballet Flamenco Sara Baras/ Flamenco Festival
Francesca Hayward as Juliet in Romeo and Juliet – The Royal Ballet
Katja Khaniukova as Frida in Broken Wings [part of She Persisted] – English National Ballet
Pippa Moore as Princess Beatrice in Victoria – Northern Ballet
Anna Rose O’Sullivan as Juliet in Romeo and Juliet – The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Creative Contribution

Koen Kessels – Conductor; Music Director, The Royal Ballet and Birmingham Royal Ballet
Nadine Meisner – Author, Marius Petipa: The Emperor’s Ballet Master
Dimitris Papaioannou – Designer, The Great Tamer
Peter Salem – Composer, The Crucible
Gavin Sutherland – Conductor/ Music Director, English National Ballet

Gavin Sutherland conducting rehearsals with English National Ballet Philharmonic © Laurent Liotardo.

Nominations cover performances in the UK between 1 September 2018 and 31 August 2019.

The shortlisted nominees are taken from nominations made by the members of the Dance section of the Critics’ Circle, over thirty of whom participated in the judging process this year.

The winners will be announced on 19 February 2020.

Congratulations to all the nominees from everyone at English National Ballet!