English National Ballet

30 March 2024 at 7.30pm Sadler's Wells Theatre, London

Act I - 50 minutes Interval - 20 minutes Act II - 35 minutes

Choreography Johan Inger

Music Georges Bizet Rodion Shchedrin

Additional original music Marc Álvarez

Orchestration (Bizet) Álvaro Domínguez Vázquez

Costume Design David Delfín

Lighting Design Tom Visser

Set Design Curt Allen Wilmer and Leticia Ganan AAPEE with estudiodeDos

Dramaturgy Gregor Acuña-Pohl

Staging Toby Mallitt Urtzi Aranburu

Costume Assistant Luisa Maria Ramos Corrales

English National Ballet Philharmonic

Guest Conductor Manuel Coves

Leader Matthew Scrivener

English National Ballet is an Associate Company of Sadler's Wells



Licensing Regulations

Johan Inger's Carmen

Carmen Minju Kang

Don José Rentaro Nakaaki

Zuniga James Streeter

Torero Erik Woolhouse

The Boy Francesca Velicu

Manuela Sangeun Lee

Guards Daniel McCormick Eric Snyder

Dogs Miguel Angel Maidana Noam Durand Victor Prigent Henry Dowden

Cigarreras Anna Ciriano Precious Adams Katja Khaniukova Haruhi Otani Alice Bellini Breanna Foad

Main Shadows Miguel Angel Maidana Noam Durand

Shadows Artists of the Company ballet.org.uk info@ballet.org.uk

#ENBCarmen X: @enballet Facebook: /EnglishNationalBallet Youtube: /enballet Instagram: /EnglishNationalBallet

Principal Season Benefactors Buffini Chao Foundation The Wigoder Family Foundation

Season Benefactors Sue Butcher Chelsea Ballet Schools Kathleen Crook & James Penturn Paul & Jacquie Gulbenkian

Season Supporters Lady Buchanan Ida Levine Sue & Graeme Sloan And those who wish to remain anonymous

Supported by Ceri & Doug King, Fatima & Mark Grizzelle and New Work Fund supporters Cockayne – Grants for the Arts: a donor advised fund held at The London Community Foundation

Production Sponsor Cunard

Let us know what you think!

We're carrying out a survey to help us learn more about our audiences and how we can provide the best possible experience. Please fill out our 3-5 minute survey by scanning the QR code below, or following this link.









English National Ballet reserves the right to make alterations to the programme, casting, dates and times as necessary. For the benefit of all patrons, please switch off all mobile phones and alarms before the performance. The taking of photographs is not permitted. Members of the public are reminded that tape recorders or other types of recording apparatus may not be brought into the auditorium. It is forbidden to record any performance or part thereof, unless prior arrangements have been made with English National Ballet. English National Ballet is a Registered Charity No. 214005.

Emerging Dancer 2024: People's Choice Award Vote for your favourite dancer!

The **Emerging Dancer Competition**, now in its 14th year, is an annual event for English National Ballet to recognise and nurture the talent of its dancers. The 2024 Emerging Dancer winner will be decided by a panel of judges following live performances at Sadler's Wells Theatre in London on 24 May 2024.

As part of the annual event, one dancer receives the **People's Choice Award**, voted for by the public. Now is your chance to cast your vote! Select your choice from the list of dancers below (excludes Lead Principals and Principals). You can vote online at **www.ballet.org.uk/emerging-vote** or print and fill out the form below and post it to English National Ballet, Mulryan Centre for Dance, 41 Hopewell Square, London, E14 0SY.

By voting, you will enter a draw to win a pair of tickets to the Emerging Dancer Final. Voting closes in Spring 2024.

Precious Adams	Carolyne Galvao
☐ Matthew Astley	□ Giorgio Garrett
Claire Barrett	□ Gareth Haw
□ Alice Bellini	□ Tiffany Hedman
🗆 Rebecca Blenkinsop	🗆 Matei Hadrian Holeleu
🗆 Georgia Bould	Edvinas Jakonis
□ Isabelle Brouwers	🗆 Minju Kang
🗆 Ivana Bueno	Chloe Keneally
🗆 Emilia Cadorin	🗆 Katja Khaniukova
🗆 Jung ah Choi	🗆 Adriana Lizardi
🗆 Anna Ciriano	Hamish Longley
🗆 Fernando Carratalá Coloma	□ Vsevolod Maievskyi
🗆 Julia Conway	☐ Miguel Angel Maidana
Ashley Coupal	Skyler Martin
Henry Dowden	Daniel McCormick
□ Noam Durand	Alison McWhinney
Eireen Evrard	🗆 Jose María Lorca Menchón
🗆 Breanna Foad	🗆 Rentaro Nakaaki
Shunhei Fuchiyama	🗆 Anna Nevzorova

□ Van Le Ngoc Haruhi Otani ☐ Thiago Pereira □ Victor Prigent Fabian Reimair □Ken Saruhashi □ William Simmons Eric Snyder □ Junor Souza Lucinda Strachan □ James Streeter □ Archie Sullivan Emily Suzuki Lorenzo Trossello Francesca Velicu Anna-Babette Winkler Angela Wood Erik Woolhouse U William Yamada Rhys Antoni Yeomans

To validate your vote please complete your details below.

Name:

Address:

Email:

Please tick this box if you wish to receive email marketing from English National Ballet. English National Ballet will not pass your data onto third parties and will only use in accordance with our privacy policy which can be viewed at www.ballet.org.uk/privacy.