English National **Ballet**

20 January 2024 at 2.30pm London Coliseum

Production and Choreography Mary Skeaping

Music Adolphe Adam

Original Choreography Jean Coralli and Jules Perrot revised by Marius Petipa

Design **David Walker**

Liahtina David Mohr, recreated from the original by Charles Bristowe

Stager Yuri Uchiumi

Artistic Adviser Irmgard E. Berry

English National Ballet Philharmonic

Guest Conductor Daniel Parkinson

Leader Matthew Scrivener

#ENBGiselle X: @enballet Facebook: /EnglishNationalBallet Youtube: /enballet Instagram: /EnglishNationalBallet

Giselle

These performances of Mary Skeaping's Giselle are dedicated to the memory of Dame Beryl Grey CH, DBE, FRSA (1927 - 2022). During her tenure as Artistic Director of London Festival Ballet (as English National Ballet was then called), Dame Beryl commissioned this production for its premiere in 1971, and preserved its treasured place in the Company's repertoire with great care in the years to come.

Act I

Giselle Shiori Kase

Albrecht, Duke of Silesia Francesco Gabriele Frola

Wilfred, his Squire Henry Dowden

Hilarion **Giorgio Garrett**

Berthe, Giselle's Mother Laura Hussey

Peasant pas de deux Ivana Bueno Daniel McCormick

Prince of Courland Fabian Reimair

His Page Hamish Longley

Bathilde, Albrecht's Fiancée Anna-Babette Winkler

Giselle's Friends Artists of the Company

Vine Gatherers Artists of the Company

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Court Artists of the Company

Interval

Act II

Myrtha, Queen of the Wilis Angela Wood

Zulma Rebecca Blenkinsop

Moyna Anna-Babette Winkler

Wilis Artists of the Company

Gamekeepers Artists of the Company

Students appear from English National Ballet School, Royal Ballet School, Central School of Ballet, and English National Ballet School's Trainee programme

Principal Season Benefactors Buffini Chao Foundation The Wigoder Family Foundation

Season Benefactors Sue Butcher Chelsea Ballet Schools Kathleen Crook & James Penturn Paul & Jacquie Gulbenkian

Season Supporters Lady Buchanan Ida Levine Sue & Graeme Sloan And those who wish to remain anonymous



londoncoliseum.org +44 (0)20 7845 9300



ballymore.

Principal Building Partner of English National Ballet

Licensing Regulations English National Ballet reserves the right to make alterations to the programme, casting, dates and times as necessary. For the benefit of all patrons, please switch off all mobile phones and alarms before the performance. The taking of photographs is not permitted. Members of the public are reminded that tape recorders or other types of recording apparatus may not be brought into the auditorium. It is forbidden to record any performance or part thereof, unless prior arrangements have been made with English National Ballet. English National Ballet is a Registered Charity No. 214005.

Emerging Dancer 2024: People's Choice Award Vote for your favourite dancer!

The **Emerging Dancer Competition**, now in its 14th year, is an annual event for English National Ballet to recognise and nurture the talent of its dancers. The 2024 Emerging Dancer winner will be decided by a panel of judges following live performances at Sadler's Wells Theatre in London on 24 May 2024.

As part of the annual event, one dancer receives the **People's Choice Award**, voted for by the public. Now is your chance to cast your vote! Select your choice from the list of dancers below (excludes Lead Principals and Principals). You can vote online at **www.ballet.org.uk/emerging-vote** or print and fill out the form below and post it to English National Ballet, Mulryan Centre for Dance, 41 Hopewell Square, London, E14 0SY.

By voting, you will enter a draw to win a pair of tickets to the Emerging Dancer Final. Voting closes in Spring 2024.

- Precious Adams
- □ Matthew Astley
- Claire Barrett
- Alice Bellini
- Rebecca Blenkinsop
- Georgia Bould
- □ Isabelle Brouwers
- 🗆 Ivana Bueno
- Emilia Cadorin
- □ Jung ah Choi
- Anna Ciriano
- E Fernando Carratalá Coloma
- □ Julia Conway
- Ashley Coupal
- Henry Dowden
- □ Noam Durand
- Eireen Evrard
- Breanna Foad
- Shunhei Fuchiyama

- Carolyne Galvao
 Giorgio Garrett
 Gareth Haw
 Tiffany Hedman
 Matei Hadrian Holeleu
 Edvinas Jakonis
 Minju Kang
 Chloe Keneally
 Katja Khaniukova
 Adriana Lizardi
 Hamish Longley
 Vsevolod Maievskyi
 Miguel Angel Maidana
 Skyler Martin
- Daniel McCormick
- □ Alison McWhinney
- Jose María Lorca Menchón
- Rentaro Nakaaki
- 🗆 Anna Nevzorova

- □ Van Le Ngoc Haruhi Otani Thiago Pereira □ Victor Prigent Fabian Reimair □ Ken Saruhashi □ William Simmons Eric Snyder □ Junor Souza Lucinda Strachan □ James Streeter Archie Sullivan Emily Suzuki Lorenzo Trossello □ Francesca Velicu Anna-Babette Winkler Angela Wood Erik Woolhouse □ William Yamada
- Rhys Antoni Yeomans

To validate your vote please complete your details below.

Name:

Address:

Email:

Please tick this box if you wish to receive email marketing from English National Ballet. English National Ballet will not pass your data onto third parties and will only use it in accordance with our privacy policy, which can be viewed at www.ballet.org.uk/privacy.