English National Ballet

Akram Khan's **GISELLE**

27 October 2023, 7.30pm Bristol Hippodrome

Direction and Choreography Akram Khan

Composition and Sound Design Vincenzo Lamagna **after the original score by** Adolphe Adam

Orchestration by Gavin Sutherland

Visual and Costume Design Tim Yip

Lighting Design Mark Henderson

Dramaturgy Ruth Little

Assistant Choreographer Andrej Petrovič

Repetiteur Mavin Khoo

Sound Designer Yvonne Gilbert

English National Ballet Philharmonic

Principal Guest Conductor Gavin Sutherland Leader Matthew Scrivener

Act I

Giselle Erina Takahashi

Albrecht James Streeter

Hilarion Ken Saruhashi

Landlord Fabian Reimair

Bathilde Rebecca Blenkinsop

Giselle's Friends Ivana Bueno Julia Conway Haruhi Otani Francesca Velicu

Court Couples Chloe Keneally/Ashley Coupal Leila Wright Hamish Longley Archie Sullivan

Outcasts Artists of the Company

Interval

Act II

Myrtha, Queen of the Wilis Emma Hawes

Wilis Artists of the Company **Principal Season Benefactors** Buffini Chao Foundation The Wigoder Family Foundation

Season Benefactors Sue Butcher Chelsea Ballet Schools Paul & Jacquie Gulbenkian

Season Supporters

Lady Buchanan Ida Levine Sue & Graeme Sloan And those who wish to remain anonymous

Co-produced by Manchester International Festival and Sadler's Wells

ballet.org.uk hello@ballet.org.uk

X (Twitter): @enballet Facebook: /EnglishNationalBallet Youtube: /englishnationalballet Instagram: /EnglishNationalBallet

This performance runs for approximately 1 hour and 55 minutes, including one interval.

Please see the back of the cast sheet to vote for your favorite dancer for the People's Choice Award











Licensing Regulations

English National Ballet reserves the right to make alterations to the programme, casting, dates and times as necessary. For the benefit of all patrons, please switch off all mobile phones and alarms before the performance. The taking of photographs is not permitted. Members of the public are reminded that tape recorders or other types of recording apparatus may not be brought into the auditorium. It is forbidden to record any performance or part thereof, unless prior arrangements have been made with English National Ballet. English National Ballet is a Registered Charity No. 214005.

Emerging Dancer 2024: People's Choice Award Vote for your favourite dancer!

The **Emerging Dancer Competition**, now in its 14th year, is an annual event for English National Ballet to recognise and nurture the talent of its dancers. The 2024 Emerging Dancer winner will be decided by a panel of judges following live performances at Sadler's Wells, London, on Friday 24 May 2024.

As part of the annual event, one dancer receives the **People's Choice Award**, voted for by the public. Now is your chance to cast your vote! Select your choice from the list of dancers below (excludes Lead Principals and Principals). You can vote online at **www.ballet.org.uk/emerging-vote** or print this out, fill in the form below and post it to English National Ballet, Mulryan Centre for Dance, 41 Hopewell Square, London, E14 0SY.

By voting, you will enter a draw to win a pair of tickets to the Emerging Dancer Final. Voting closes in Spring 2024.

- Precious Adams
- □ Matthew Astley
- Claire Barrett
- Alice Bellini
- Rebecca Blenkinsop
- Georgia Bould
- □ Isabelle Brouwers
- 🗆 Ivana Bueno
- Emilia Cadorin
- □ Jung ah Choi
- Anna Ciriano
- E Fernando Carratalá Coloma
- □ Julia Conway
- Ashley Coupal
- Henry Dowden
- □ Noam Durand
- Eireen Evrard
- Breanna Foad
- Shunhei Fuchiyama

- Carolyne Galvao
 Giorgio Garrett
 Gareth Haw
 Tiffany Hedman
 Matei Hadrian Holeleu
 Edvinas Jakonis
 Minju Kang
 Chloe Keneally
 Katja Khaniukova
 Adriana Lizardi
 Hamish Longley
 Vsevolod Maievskyi
 Miguel Angel Maidana
 Skyler Martin
- Daniel McCormick
- Alison McWhinney
- □ Jose María Lorca Menchón
- Rentaro Nakaaki
- Anna Nevzorova

- □ Van Le Ngoc Haruhi Otani Thiago Pereira □ Victor Prigent Fabian Reimair □ Ken Saruhashi □ William Simmons Eric Snyder □ Junor Souza Lucinda Strachan □ James Streeter Archie Sullivan Emily Suzuki Lorenzo Trossello □ Francesca Velicu Anna-Babette Winkler Angela Wood Erik Woolhouse □ William Yamada
- Rhys Antoni Yeomans

To validate your vote please complete your details below.

Name:

Address:

Email:

Please tick this box if you wish to receive email marketing from English National Ballet. English National Ballet will not pass your data onto third parties and will only use it in accordance with our privacy policy, which can be viewed at www.ballet.org.uk/privacy.