

OUR VOICES

George Balanchine | Andrea Miller | David Dawson

21 September 2023 at 7.30pm Sadler's Wells Theatre

This performance is dedicated to the memory of Phyllida Barlow (1944 – 2023), whose vision we are fortunate to see realised in the artwork for Les Noces, Ascent to Days.

Theme and Variations

Choreography: George Balanchine Music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Design: Roberta Guidi di Bagno Lighting Design: Marco Filibeck Repetiteur: Victoria Simon

Les Noces, Ascent to Days

Choreography: Andrea Miller Music: Igor Stravinsky by permission of Chester Music Ltd

Orchestration: Steven Stucky Artwork Concept: Phyllida Barlow **Costume Design:** Marie Cantenys

and Margaux Lalanne

Lighting Design: Mark Henderson Original Electronic Music: Will Epstein Creative Assistants: Emma Thesing

and Allysen Hooks

Chorus: Opera Holland Park Soloists: Siân Griffiths, Jack Roberts, Frazer Scott and Janice Watson

Four Last Songs

Choreography: David Dawson Music: Richard Strauss by permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Limited

Libretto (Frühling, September, Beim Schlafengehen): Hermann Hesse Libretto (Im Abendrot): Joseph Freiherr

von Eichendorff Design: Eno Henze

Costume Design: Yumiko Takeshima Lighting Design: Bert Dalhuysen Repetiteur: Raphaël Coumes-Marquet

Soprano: Madeleine Pierard

English National Ballet Philharmonic

Principal Guest Conductor

Gavin Sutherland

Leader

Matthew Scrivener

Theme and Variations

Principals

Emma Hawes, Aitor Arrieta

Demi Soloists

Precious Adams, Ivana Bueno, Haruhi Otani, Emily Suzuki, Edvinas Jakonis, Ken Saruhashi, Eric Snyder, Erik Woolhouse

Corps de Ballet

Artists of the Company

Interval

Les Noces, Ascent to Days

Chosen One

Breanna Foad Mother

Alice Bellini

Father

James Streeter

Rentaro Nakaaki

Priest

Henry Dowden Chosen One

Francesca Velicu

People

Artists of the Company

Interval

Four Last Songs

Sangeun Lee, Emma Hawes, Erina Takahashi, Ivana Bueno, Precious Adams, Angela Wood

Francesco Gabriele Frola, Aitor Arrieta. Gareth Haw, Lorenzo Trossello, Rhys Antoni Yeomans, Miguel Angel Maidana Our Voices is generously supported

Principal Season Benefactors

Buffini Chao Foundation

Season Benefactors

Sue Butcher Chelsea Ballet Schools Paul & Jacquie Gulbenkian

Season Supporters

Lady Buchanan Ida Levine Sue & Graeme Sloan And those who wish to remain anonymous

Ceri & Doug King Fátima & Mark Grizzelle And New Work Fund supporters

ballet.org.uk info@ballet.org.uk

Twitter: @enballet Facebook: /EnglishNationalBallet

Youtube: /enballet

Instagram: /EnglishNationalBallet

This performance runs for approximately 2 hours and ten minutes including 2 intervals

Please see the back of the cast sheet to vote for your favorite dancer for the People's Choice **Award**







Emerging Dancer 2024: People's Choice Award Vote for your favourite dancer!

The **Emerging Dancer Competition**, now in its 14th year, is an annual event for English National Ballet to recognise and nurture the talent of its dancers. The 2024 Emerging Dancer winner will be decided by a panel of judges following live performances: venue and date TBC.

As part of the annual event, one dancer receives the **People's Choice Award**, voted for by the public. Now is your chance to cast your vote! Select your choice from the list of dancers below (excludes Lead Principals and Principals). You can vote online at **www.ballet.org.uk/emerging-vote** or fill in the form below and hand it to a member of the Front of House staff, ballot box in the foyer, or post it to English National Ballet, Mulryan Centre for Dance, 41 Hopewell Square, London, E14 0SY.

By voting, you will enter a draw to win a pair of tickets to the Emerging Dancer Final. Voting closes in Spring 2024.

☐ Precious Adams	☐ Carolyne Galvao	□ Van Le Ngoc
☐ Matthew Astley	☐ Giorgio Garrett	☐ Haruhi Otani
☐ Claire Barrett	☐ Gareth Haw	☐ Thiago Pereira
☐ Alice Bellini	☐ Tiffany Hedman	☐ Victor Prigent
☐ Rebecca Blenkinsop	☐ Matei Hadrian Holeleu	☐ Fabian Reimair
☐ Georgia Bould	☐ Edvinas Jakonis	☐ Ken Saruhashi
☐ Isabelle Brouwers	☐ Minju Kang	☐ William Simmons
□ Ivana Bueno	☐ Chloe Keneally	☐ Eric Snyder
☐ Emilia Cadorin	☐ Katja Khaniukova	☐ Junor Souza
☐ Jung ah Choi	☐ Adriana Lizardi	☐ Lucinda Strachan
☐ Anna Ciriano	☐ Hamish Longley	☐ James Streeter
☐ Fernando Carratalá Coloma	☐ Vsevolod Maievskyi	☐ Archie Sullivan
☐ Julia Conway	☐ Miguel Angel Maidana	☐ Emily Suzuki
☐ Ashley Coupal	☐ Skyler Martin	☐ Lorenzo Trossello
☐ Henry Dowden	☐ Daniel McCormick	☐ Francesca Velicu
☐ Noam Durand	☐ Alison McWhinney	☐ Anna-Babette Winkler
☐ Eireen Evrard	□ Jose María Lorca Menchón	☐ Angela Wood
☐ Breanna Foad	□ Rentaro Nakaaki	☐ Erik Woolhouse
☐ Shunhei Fuchiyama	☐ Anna Nevzorova	☐ William Yamada
		☐ Rhys Antoni Yeomans
To validate your vote please comp Name: Address:	lete your details below.	
Email:		

Please tick this box if you wish to receive email marketing from English National Ballet. English National Ballet will not pass your data onto third

parties and will only use it in accordance with our privacy policy, which can be viewed at www.ballet.org.uk/privacy.